Why I love print

Call me old fashioned but there is something I just love about printed communications. Whether it’s newsletters, magazines, prospectuses, a shiny corporate brochure or even a plain old flyer, when a job comes in from the printers, there is something really special about it.

I am really glad to know that one of my clients has a corporate brochure in the pipeline for me at the moment. Although I am a copywriter, I will be a project manager for the brochure and am looking for a graphic designer to team up with to produce something that will really blow the client’s socks off. And don’t get me wrong, I sincerely hope that I can help him out with his website too and I will put everything into that and it will look just as great and read just as well but… Anyone else feel the same?

It’s the combination of nerves and excitement as the guy from the printing company brings your samples into the office for you and you open the package and know you’ve done a good job and the client will love it.

Obviously there is less need on today’s world for printed communications. But I have worked with many companies where they still love tangible publications – whether it’s because they enjoy reading them while travelling for business, taking them home to share with their families or because they spend all day sitting at a computer and want to take time out to look at them.

Now, there are some wonderful digital communications out there too. My old company produced some AMAZING digital magazines and websites for companies like T-Mobile and it would be great to have the opportunity to work on something like that again. If I get enough of them at Words by Fiona Kyle maybe I will change my mind!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Fiona, I totally agree that, despite environmental concerns and the digital revolution, there is still room for printed communications – and there is some sort of magic about it, probably something rather primitive in all of us. After all, when you see a REALLY good digital newsletter/etc, don’t you print it out? Thanks for a great post, Gabriela

    Reply

  2. Posted by SandySays1 on April 14, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    Yep, my human and I love printed books, too. My human simply feels more comfortable reading them. He claims its an eye thing. Another reason is he’s had two Kindle’s stolen, (Never leave one on the table at MacDonalds when you get a napkin) and has lost one over the side of his boat. That gets costly. He also wonders what happens if some of the cumulative radiation studies being done in some universities say we’re poisoning our bodies with all those high-tech marvels. I love paper books for another reason – they taste better than those plastic boxes.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

    Reply

  3. I love designing printed material, what you see is what you get and there are no limits on creativity. Unlike with the web where there are any numbers of browsers or devices your end user might be viewing your design on. With print you can be pretty sure all our eyes view it the same. Unless your client is colour blind of course, i have had that problem before!

    Jen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

